Reunion after 40 years

My dad has been a little bit “naughty” during his younger years. He’s married to my mom and I have 6 siblings. I know I also have 2 older sisters and 2 older brothers who came from two other women whom my dad fell in love with years back. There wasn’t no friction at all between all of us. In fact, my “other” siblings still use to go on vacation here and we see each other when they’re here.

But about a week ago, someone sent a private message on my dad’s facebook. She said she just wants to know if my dad knows a certain name and if they could get our address or contact number. She said her husband has been looking for his dad for the longest time and she wants that missing part of her husband’s life to be filled. I was touched by her gesture. We gave her our contact information and a few minutes after, they were already calling.

My dad knew he was his own son. They talked and asked how life has been. My dad was told that they would be visiting us that weekend.

That Saturday morning, they came into our house. He was with his wife. They were patiently waiting for my dad. He was teary eyed. Finally my dad went down and they embraced each other. That moment was so special. I realized, how sad could it have been to grow up without being with or at least knowing your father. After 40 long years, a son has finally found his father.

I think my “new” brother wanted to spend some more time with our dad because before they left our house, he asked me if we could all meet again for dinner. He invited my other siblings too. We accepted the invitation. After dinner, my “new” brother still wanted to extend the time so he asked if we could still get a bottle of beer. We readily accepted. I knew he was wanting to make up for the time lost.

What a day it has been. This day has been so memorable for me as I came to think of how lucky I am to have my father beside me as I grow up. He was there during my childhood years, I remember I sing make up songs before and play with him, he was there during my graduation, he was there when I got married, he was there when I gave birth. My dad was always there.

Image

What a joy to know that our family is still growing. I don’t know for sure if I’d still have another  “new” brother or sister down the road but I’m sure happy to have known another “new” brother for now. 🙂

Image

PS Special thanks to facebook. I never would have appreciated technology but hey, facebook paved the way for a father and son reunion. Good thing I created my dad’s facebook account several years ago. 🙂

Psalm 133:1 Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity

By keepingupthefaith

A happy wife, married to a wonderful and loving husband, doting mom to two beautiful daughters and a follower and lover of Jesus Christ. Praises and thanks be to God for this wonderful life!

Leave a comment